Less but more (frequently) – expired Kodachrome 100G

15 Jun

I am now busy with running a proper bed and breakfast or rather a very small six room hotel in Mikulov, Czech Republic and consequently I have very little time for anything else. Especially for writing articles for this semi dormant blog.  So what do I do? I still take pictures now and then. So I thought of transforming this blog from one with lots of words, written and posted infrequently to

Nikolai, child portrait, flower, Kodachrome 100G

Poppy, Nikolai and Kodachrome 100G

something of a photographic diary, but one a diary in fast defunct anologue or analog format because, yes, I shoot film. I also shoot digital now and then, mainly with utilitarian goals in mind, as if when I need to get a picture of something fast, but for digital imagery I think I’ll put another blog that would only be dedicated to digital photography.

I have a small stockpile of Ektachrome 100G. The film expired in 2005 was exposed this summer, in June 2013, as ISO 80 and apparently it is still perfect. Here in the Czech Republic, at least at one drop-off pharmacy location in Mikulov,  one can develop E6 slide film for the equivalent of… 2 euros. That is cheap. Even in Russia, in St. Petersburg, with a very competitive conventional analog processing market, the price of developing E6 film is about 7 europs whilst regular negative C41 costs the equivalent of just 1 or under 1 euro at the really cheap location (and only for 135 format film). In the Czech Republic, at least at that store chain, the situation is precisely the opposite – negative film processing costs a lot, actually it is incredibly expensive (the equivalent of EUR 5  per roll in local currency) whilst slide processing is oddly cheap and fantastically good. Such low prices are either a result of somebody’s oversight or some other fluke of nature or commerce, in any case they won’t last long.  So I’d be shooting color (or colour) slide film for a while. I’ve got quite a lot of it stockpiled. Mostly hopelessly expired. But as this digitized picture shows the film is still perfectly usable, even good, in fact in my opinion the way colors are reproduced are just perfect and the digital scan does not do justice to those beautiful slides.

 

I also published this image on the ipernity.com – the greatest photo sharing platform.

2 Responses to “Less but more (frequently) – expired Kodachrome 100G”

  1. Eplekake Geir June 15, 2013 at 21:08 #

    It appears e6 might be a dying format. Fuji has cut several of their films, there is not much that is left. I also have old films lying around. Thought of doing e6 myself, we tested it here in our club and it wasnt that hard. In germany, also, its still possible to make e6 not too expensive in the big pharmacy chains.

    • photoroobit June 18, 2013 at 13:32 #

      Just in case you speak German, then Hallo/Grüß Gott, ich spreche gerne Deutsch:) But since I write in this semi-dormant blog in English, rarely when I do, unfortunately I just don’t have any time for writing anything, then I’ll keep it that way for a while. I migrated to film from digital in around 2008 and although I think film is a more expressive medium – I won’t even compare digital to film – it is dying, both C41 and E6 and perhaps black and white as well. I have stockpiled enough film to last decades. But at the current rate of processing (say 5 euros per roll for C41) in both neighboring Austria and here in Moravia, the film is dead as it has been priced out of amateur use and pros don’t shoot film anyway. E6 is such esoteric stuff that it is all but extinct. I know a photographer in Khabarovsk, Russian Far East, who sends his film for processing to St. Petersburg (12 000 km away?) as it is the closest place under same jurisdiction where film can be developed. There are a few film shooters like those who found home on the fabulous ipernity.com but, but it seems their numbers don’t justify film production. Kodak will most certainly get out of film business or perhaps out of business entirely, leaving Fuji in the monopoly position of the sole color film producer and Fuji will too stop making film. That’s it. A hope is for a boutique, semi-commercial or non-commercial film manufacturer (based for example on the Czech Foma, which is likely to shut down for good as well), which will make relatively small batches of film (it is very difficult or in reality impossible to produce film in small batches) and will also make small runs of archaic color film based on Agfa / Orwocolor, Orwochrom technologies which amateurs could then easily process at home.

Leave a Reply

